NCP: Supriya Sule, Amar Patnaik among 11 MPs shortlisted for Sansad Ratna Award

Prime Point Foundation said on Tuesday that NCP’s Supriya Sule and BJD’s Amar Patnaik are among the 11 MPs who have been selected for the Sansad Ratna Award 2022. The jury committee has nominated senior Tamil Nadu BJP leader HV Hande and senior Congress leader M Veerappa Moily for lifetime achievement awards, while four parliamentary standing committees – agriculture, finance, education and labor – will be awarded for their contribution. .

The foundation said in a statement that the 11 MPs include eight from the Lok Sabha and three from the Rajya Sabha.

According to the foundation, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) MP Sule, Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) MP NK Premachandran and Shiv Sena MP Srirang Appa Barne will be honored with the ‘Sansad Vishisht Ratna’ award for their consistent outstanding performance.

Trinamool Congress MP Saugata Roy (West Bengal), Congress MP Kuldeep Rai Sharma (Andaman and Nicobar Islands), and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MPs Vidyut Baran Mahto (Jharkhand), Heena Vijaykumar Gavit (Maharashtra) and Sudhir Gupta ( Madhya Pradesh) He was shortlisted for the Sansad Ratna Award for his performance in the 17th Lok Sabha.

In the upper house, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) MP Amar Patnaik (Odisha) and NCP MP Fauzia Tehseen Ahmed Khan (Maharashtra) were shortlisted under the ‘sitting member’ category for their performance in 2021.

Communist Party of India (Marxist) MP KK Ragesh (Kerala) has been nominated for the award under the category ‘Retired Members in 2021’ for his outstanding performance during his full tenure in Rajya Sabha.

K Srinivasan, Founder President, Prime Point Foundation, said the awardees were selected on the basis of their cumulative performance from the beginning of the 17th Lok Sabha to the end of the Winter Session 2021, based on the data provided by PRS India.

The Sansad Ratna Awards Committee was chaired by Arjun Ram Meghwal, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs and co-chaired by former Chief Election Commissioner of India TS Krishnamurthy.

The awards were instituted on the suggestion of former President Late APJ Abdul Kalam to honor top performing parliamentarians.

The first award ceremony was held in Chennai in 2010 and Kalam himself started the initiative. According to the foundation, 75 top performing MPs have been felicitated so far.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Subscribe to our newsletters
If you have any questions or comments, please don't hesitate to contact us.